WPSA – Australian Poultry Award

World’s Poultry Science Association Australian Branch

Rules for the Australian Poultry Award

The Australian Branch of the World’s Poultry Science Association wishes to recognise outstanding work of benefit to the Australian

Poultry Industry and sets out the following rules which will apply to the Award.

  1. Name of Award

The award shall be known as the Australian Poultry Award.

  1. General Conditions

(a)        The Award shall be made to persons normally resident in Australia.  The Award may be made to the same person more than once, but not for the same work or service.  The nominee need not necessarily be a member of WPSA.

(b)        The Award shall be made annually, but if in the opinion of a majority of the Selection Committee who respond, there is no candidate of sufficient merit, NO Award shall be made in that year.

(c)        The Award shall take the form of a suitably inscribed plaque including the WPSA insignia and winner’s name.

(d)       The Award shall be made on suitable occasions, such as the Australian Poultry Science Symposium and the Poultry and Stock Feed Convention, or as approved by the Australian Branch Management Committee.

(e)        Nominations shall be completed on a nomination form distributed to ALL financial members by the Australian Branch Secretary by May 31st each year.

(f)        Nominations must include essential details of the work of the nominee upon which the nomination is based, and should not exceed TWO pages.

(g)        Completed nominations shall be forwarded to the Australian Branch Secretary to arrive NOT LATER THAN 31st July each year.

(h)        The Selection Committee shall consist of the following: The President; Vice-President; Secretary; Treasurer and Immediate Past President of the Australian Branch; the President of each Australian Sub-Branch and Award recipients from the previous 10 years who are still active in the Australian poultry industry.  The Australian Branch Management Committee to determine the eligibility of previous Award recipients to vote on the Selection Committee.

In the event of a Sub-branch President being a voting member of the Australian Branch executive, the Vice-President of the Sub-branch to be included in the Selection Committee.

All members of the Selection Committee to be entitled to ONE VOTE ONLY.

A member of the Selection Committee who is nominated for the Award shall not be entitled to vote in the year of nomination.

(i)         The Australian Branch President shall be Chairman of the Selection Committee and together with his Vice President and Secretary shall be responsible for conduct of Award procedures and act as sole returning officer to determine the Award winner, in accordance with the prescribed rules.

(j)         Voting to be by secret postal ballot.

If more than two nominations are received, a preferential system of voting will apply using a system which has the principle of allocating one point for first preference, two points for second preference, three points for third preference etc.

Method of Selection:

  • In totaling the points awarded to each nominee, the candidate receiving the lowest total count shall be the Award Winner.
  • In the event of one or more candidates receiving the same minimum total, preference shall be given to the candidate receiving the greatest number of first preferences.
  • In the event of a tie at this stage, the Selection Committee will vote again on the tied candidates.

(k)        Nominations shall be made only by financial members of the Australian Branch of the WPSA who shall agree that the nomination will be strictly confidential.  In the event of a breach of confidence the Selection Committee reserves the right to reject any nomination affected.

(l)         When a special function is held to present the Award, the recipient and guests may be advised in confidence of the recipient’s name in sufficient time prior to the function to ensure attendance at the presentation.

Australian Poultry Award Previous Winners

Year Recipient Year Recipient
1964 Mr A.O. Moll 1994 Mr B. Bartlett
1965 Dr M.W. McDonald 1995 Dr R.A.E. Pym
1966 Professor R.B. Cumming 1996 Dr E.E. Best
1967 Mr F. Skaller 1997 Mr M. Peacock
1968 Professor G.L. McClymont 1998 Professor D. Balnave
1969 Dr S. Hunt 1999 Dr H. Westbury
1970 Dr L. Hart 2000 Mr L. Brajkovich
1971 Mr N. Milne 2001 Mr R.J. Hughes
1972 Mr R. Morris 2002 Dr T.M. Grimes
1973 Mr J. & Mr R. Ingham 2003 Dr R. MacAlpine
1974 Mr S.J. Wilkins 2004 Dr M. Choct
1975 Professor C.G. Payne 2005 Professor P. Spradbrow
1976 Mr W. Stanhope 2006 Dr J. R. Roberts
1977 Professor B. Sinkovic 2007 Dr V. Kite
1978 Mr J. Douglas 2008 Mr R. Horn
1979 Mr D. Blackett 2009 Professor W. Bryden
1980 Dr A.F. Webster 2010 Dr G. Parkinson
1981 Mr R. Fuge 2011 Dr K. Whithear
1982 Dr J.G. Fairbrother 2012 Dr P.J. Groves
1983 Dr R.K. Ryan 2013 Dr B.S. Bains
1984 Mr C. Donnelley 2014 Dr P. Blackall
1985 Dr P. Gilchrist 2015 Dr. T. Walker
1986 Dr C.A.W. Jackson 2016 Dr. P. Glatz
1987 Mr E. Rigby 2017 Dr. C. Morrow
1988 Mr W. Shaw 2018 Dr. B. Wells
1989 Dr H. Bray 2019 Mr. David Tinworth
1990 Dr M. Mackenzie 2020 Dr. Peter Scott
1991 Professor DJ. Farrell 2021 Dr. Margaret Sexton & Dr Rod Jenner
1992 Dr B.L. Sheldon 2022 Professor Steve Walkden-Brown
1993 Mr R. Macindoe    


Sign up to the Echook Newsletter
for the latest from PoultryHub